RSS

On writing

14 May

I’m participating in a blog roll about….writing, although I feel like a fraud, a voyeur at this point as things are not really moving along. Apart from reading as much fiction as possible and thinking that I should be writing, or oh wow, that’s a good idea, I should write it down, there just seem to be 101 things to do. I know this is not an excuse, it’s about prioritizing and I have to get my priorities straight!

So here goes, I was sent this by Michelle, whose blog you can check out here:
http://www.gn-st.com/2014/05/its-blog-hop-story-behind-writer.html

The questions are:

1) What are you working on?
2) How does your work differ from others of its genre?
3) Why do you write what you do?
4) How does your writing process work?

1) I’m working on a middle grade novel which is a great adventure into deepest, darkest Africa, well not quite but Botswana comes close?

2) The setting makes this novel somewhat different, I love immersing myself in Africa while I can’t be there, so I’m creating some make-believe for myself, and hopefully for others. Also, I love children’s fiction. By children’s fiction I also mean young adult of course. The world would be a poorer place without The Hunger Games, Harry Potter, the Twilight series. What absolute complete fun! actually being there, so I can armchair travel to fill in the gaps. Speaking of which, Dina von Lowenkraft http://www.dinavonlowenkraft.com/ is also participating in this blogroll and has recently published Dragonfire. Also watch her space, some great new books will be coming along shortly.

3) I started writing this book because my son ran out of reading material that he liked and that he could cope with as a dyslexic. Now of course it’s taken me so long to write that he’s already slightly too old for it. No matter, I hope there will be others out there who will love it.

4) I try and set aside a specific amount of time each day and think I can wing it but actually have to work at building some structure into the story. i.e I’d like to be a pantser but I don’t think I have it in me.

Now my next step in this task is to contact four writers and ask them these questions, and create a huge network of people checking out blog posts.

Someone comes to mind, the author of my favourite blog, Susan Heyden and her blog http://discopantsblog.com/. I absolutely have to continue reading (most) posts especially because I find them really interesting (obvious) and also because I love the South Africanisms. I just miss being able to say, that was kiff, or stop gaaning aan, or whatever, just the right amount of flavour for me, so I’ll write to her straight away…..

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 14, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
