RSS

Tonteldoos

06 Feb

This has always been a strange word for me in Afrikaans. It means tinderbox and there’s a minute town near the farm by this name. ‘Doos’ in Dutch means box and I guess in Afrikaans too but it has evolved into a rather horrible word plus it’s used to say someone is an idiot. So my neck twists in all directions when I hear it all around me here in Belgium but its use is quite innocent, I think so anyway.

Imagine my surprise when we went for a walk with a Nature group on Sunday, there was a predator bird display on. We saw fox-holes and rabbit hang-outs and were shown a ‘tondelzwam’, those horrible mushroomy thing that grow on trees, and then our guide proceeded to tell us that this used to be put in a ‘tondeldoos’ with horse urine and other stuff to start a fire easily.

Now I’m not sure if it was better to perpetually wonder about this weird word or to actually know where it originated from. Myths dispelled!
huizingen (41 of 42)

huizingen (18 of 42)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 6, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Tonteldoos

  1. Elane

    April 6, 2013 at 3:29 pm

    I love the “tonteldoos” explanation! Thank you for this interesting fact!
    Who knew?

     

Leave a Reply

 
